“RAISE YOUR VOICE, sticks and stones may break my bones, i’m talking loud, not saying much…” ~ David Guetta feat. Sia – Titanium

Standard

As I know that I don’t have a gigantic number of songwriting inspirations, I thought I would alternate this with songs I can’t get out of my head of the week.

I listen to a range of different music as I have said before. On my Spotify account, I have three playlists: Christmas, Dancey and Sad.

Obviously near Christmas, I listen to my Christmas one. My sad one is for when I want to chill out or not in a happy mood. My dancey one is for every other time that I want music; whether it be for whilst I’m getting ready for a night out, exercising, doing work or just writing a blog post like I am now.

The song that I can’t get out my head this week is: David Guetta featuring SiaTitanium

 

The song is from Guetta’s fifth studio album, Nothing But The Beat, which has featured artists including Nicki Minaj, Akon and Jennifer Hudson.  David Guetta is a French DJ, songwriter and record producer, who achieved international fame with his fourth studio album, One Love, which was released in August 2009.

Sia (full name Sia Furler) is an Australian singer/songwriter, who was once Jamiroquai‘s backing singer. She has released 5 studio albums but they never charted that successfully in the UK. However, her 2004 single Breathe Me has been featured widely in various television shows including Six Feet Under and Veronica Mars.

She is one of my favourite singers around at the moment; her voice is so unique and when she sings a song, you really believe in her performance. She was relatively unknown amongst a lot of people around my age group until Titanium went into the charts.

Album cover for Sia's 2010 album We Are Born

Sia went to her Twitter page to talk about Titanium saying:

“It’s amazing that 40 minutes of my life and zero promo turned into my most successful song to date.”

Sia wrote Titanium with Guetta, Giorgio Tuinfort and Afrojack and the song is described as being a ballad, mixed with the genres of pop, house and urban-dance. The song is all about self-empowerment, about how no matter who knocks you down you can get back up again.

The lyrics are powerful and simple. My favourite being:

“I’m criticised,

But all your bullets ricochet,

You shoot me down,

But I get up”

The lyrics and the message of the song are relatable to anyone in any situation. A peer putting you down, someone telling you can’t achieve a dream that you have; whatever it may be, this song says that no matter what they say you CAN be strong. You don’t have to listen to what they say.

It is no surprise to me that the song is such a success. With David Guetta’s killer beats in the background, Sia’s hauntingly unique vocals and incredible lyrics; no wonder it is a club and chart favourite.

Stay inspired x

One response »

Leave a Reply

